Slower than a Herd of Turtles

Hi. My name is Nicole and it’s been 56 days since my last run.

It’s been 55 days since I was told I couldn’t run/walk/bike/use an elliptical because of a possible stress fracture. 6-8 weeks of recovery possible.

It’s been 48 days since an MRI said it wasn’t fractured. My sentence was reduced to only 3-4 weeks.

It’s been 29 days since I was told “Your stress reaction really isn’t healing like it should be. You need to be on crutches for 2-3 weeks.”

It’s been roughly 22 days since I decided crutches are way more trouble than they are worth and screw that shit. Arm strains, bruising, and being completely useless to myself instead of a little random shot of mild pain in the leg a couple of times a day? Yeah. No.

***Somewhere in this time span I may or may not have done the Superhero Scramble and the Going Dopey for a Cure Virtual 5K***

It’s been 9 days since I finally made a medical breakthrough and got the go ahead to start walking! Yay Walking!

The little random shots of mild pain that I’d been feeling is swelling in the healing bone. Light, short walks are just what the bone needs to have the right kind of stress to encourage the swelling to go down. Running and walking up and down mountains are the wrong kind of stress and too much impact and will make it worse or at least inhibit full healing.

So I walked 1.2 miles that night. I walked nearly 2 miles the next night because I apparently have no spatial reasoning skills whatsoever and somehow 1 mile ended up being 2. I walked all the way to the park for a carnival and back (about 2.2 miles) on Saturday. I walked 1.4 miles last night. I’m hoping to get in another walk today. I’m going to Washington, D.C. for the weekend and I am going to walk the shit out of that town.

And then guess what I get to do next month! I get to run! I’ll have to run slower than the legendary herd of turtles stampeding through peanut butter, but I’ll be running!

And I’m going to be good this time. I promise. My prescription of 4 weeks of walking and 2 weeks of very slow running (no faster than 15min/mile) on flat land will not be interrupted with an OCR or an I’ve-just-got-to-do-this-one road race. I’ve transferred my August 24th Warrior Dash registration to someone else. Hero Rush was nice enough to go out of business so I don’t  have to worry about that race anymore.

Now my only hang up is going to be the Super Spartan in New Jersey. It is 2 days before my follow-up visit with Dr. OrthopedistMan. Technically, I shouldn’t be doing it. Last year’s Super was 12+ miles. I may not have the best spatial skills, but I’m pretty sure that 12+ is a lot more than the 2 mile limit I’ve been given. On the upside, if I do hurt myself I’ll already be getting an X-ray for the follow-up so I’d really just be saving my insurance company some bucks. Yay rationalization!

So my conundrum for the next month is to do decide whether I forfeit this year’s Spartan Trifecta or risk not being able to run at all for the foreseeable future. Hmmm… I guess only my tibia will know which way to go.

2 thoughts on “Slower than a Herd of Turtles

Leave a Reply

