Turning to Crack

Since my doctor has advised strongly against running or anything of that nature, I’ve had to search for a new addiction to fill the void. I’ve turned to crack.

Wait! No! Don’t go calling the cops or Intervention or any of that. I’m not going all Whitney Houston on you guys. (too soon? oh well, I’ve never been known as a classy lady)

It’s just pie. A very sweet, sugar-bomb of a pie made famous by the Momofuko Milk Bar in NYC. For some reason unbeknownst to me, they call it Crack Pie. Is it the addictive nature or the fact that you get to crack up a giant oat cookie? Don’t know. Don’t care. I just made the darn thing and didn’t ask any questions. I was dared to do it by the Daring Bakers. So I guess I tried crack because of peer pressure?

Anywho, Rachael from pizzarossa was our lovely June 2013 Daring Bakers’ host and she had us whipping up delicious pies in our kitchens! Cream pies, fruit pies, chocolate pies, even crack pies! There’s nothing like pie! Smile One of the options was to try to make this famous Crack Pie with a recipe published in Bon Appétit magazine.

From bonappetit.com

I could have made a chocolate caramel tart, an apple pie, or a crostata instead, but the Crack Pie intrigued me. I had seen it on Unique Sweets or some other similar show aired on another one of my addictions: the Cooking Channel.

Here’s how I did it

First I made the gigantic cookie

002

Giant Blob-O-Cookie in the oven.

003

Giant Cookie completed

Then I crumble-fied the gigantic cookie. I learned that it is very hard to crumblefy a giant cookie and NOT eat any of it.

Ok so maybe I ate a little bit.

The cookie crumbles were mixed with butter and more sugar to make a crust similar to a graham cracker crust, but extra diabetes-inducing.

004

Super-sweet Pie Crust ready for filling

Next came the filling. It basically consists of sugar, cream, egg yolks and more sugar. Richness personified (pie-ified?)

007

Some bakers reading this may be screaming at the screen right now, chastising me for leaving me oven door open and taking pictures. I know that is cardinal sin, but I just got an oven thermometer (finally) just before this baking excursion. While the oven was set for 350°F, the oven thermometer read well over 425! I needed to cool that bad boy down and seriously consider replacing the oven.

Anyway, the recipe said that the pie needed to cool for a few hours and then chill overnight in the refrigerator. I failed to read that particular portion of the recipe until I had already agreed to make this pie for my parents and siblings for that night. Oops. Oh well. 3 hours in the fridge it is.

Pie for the eating!

Pie for the eating!

It definitely did not look like the picture from the magazine. It tasted, well, sweet. Really sweet. It reminded me of a pecan pie that someone totally spazzed while making and forgot to put the pecans in. It was enjoyed by the family, especially X who must have eaten 2 1/2 pieces thanks to his Aunt “Nani” who kept giving him more. Nothing like an Favorite Aunt to sugar up a kid and then send him home with mommy and daddy. Needless to say, sleep wasn’t on the agenda for the little sugar-tweeked toddler.

One thought on “Turning to Crack

Leave a Reply

