Dog Biscuits

Nope, not making cookies for the 3 fur-factories that live in my house.

I’m making race-day snacks for the Dirty Water Dogs –  the rag-tag bunch that I run almost of all my crazy events with. I really owe it to those guys. I don’t know what I’d do without them. Actually, I do know: I’d do a lot more burpees. These boys are personal support system for getting over wall that are higher than 5 feet. I have Jay to act as my step ladder. Derek, AKA Chatterbox, is my railing to help me keep my balance while climbing on Jay. And Matt, AKA Stump, plays a very key role in getting me to jump down once I get on top of the wall. He stands there with his hand touching my foot so that the stupid, primitive bits of my brain know that the ground is within reach.

I’ve made these muffins, which I have named “Dog  Biscuits,” for many of our events. I got the recipe out of the Abs Diet cookbook and have used different add-ins and made them gluten-free. The guys love them. The girls that I’ve run with loved them. I’ve shared them in the parking lots outside of races. They are a hit and one of the first requests whenever we sign up for another race.

The Dog Biscuits are especially  handy-dandy when our races are a long drive away because we can nosh on one during the 2-4 hour drive to the venue or pop one of these protein and carb-packed muffins on the way to the registration tent and be completely good-to-go for the duration of the race. They are also the best food to use for recovery after the race. I don’t know about the rest of you mudders out there, but that banana that they hand me at the finish line only awakens the starving beast that is my belly. A Dog Biscuit makes it happy again. Leftovers, if there are any, make a fabulous grab-n-go breakfast or snack (depending on how big you make them,) too.

image

A Dog Biscuit with all its component yumminess

I’ll be using this batch to fuel the Dirty Water Dogs for our first event of the season, which is also our first ever marathon distance event. We will be running/hiking our way through the Shawangunk mountains from east of the Mohonk Mountain House, all the way to Ellenville. The event is being dubbed Springletrack by the guys organizing it and it is the first time it is being done as far as I know. It is completely unsupported (no water/food/medic stations) so we will be packing our GORUCKs with all of our essentials, including Dog Biscuits.

Dog Biscuits

in theory, this makes 12 standard-sized muffins, but I usually only get 9 or 10.
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup raisins or other dried fruit
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (take your pick, they are all good)
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (for the gluten-free version go with 1/2 cup coconut flour)
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar (I’ve also swapped this for agave nectar or molasses for a lower-glycemic option)
  • 2 tsp baking powder (Add an extra tsp if using coconut flour)

Preheat oven to 350°F

Combine all ingredients. It may seem like all the flour won’t incorporate but I swear it will.

Divide into greased or paper-lined muffin tin.

Bake 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

 

For this particular batch, I swapped out my standard vanilla why protein for chocolate. I’d like to say that it’s because I wanted to experiment, but it’s just because the store was out of vanilla. I also replaced the raisins with chopped up strawberry SunRype FruitSource bars because I’ve been wanting to see if they play as well in baked goods.* For the record, they play really well. They kind of melt into globs of jammy goodness. Mmmmm….. Jammy and peanutty choco-muffin.

*Disclaimer: I am sponsored by SunRype through the Active Ambassador program. I do have my integrity, though, so if their products weren’t the bee’s knees I’d say so.

One thought on “Dog Biscuits

Leave a Reply

