Ultimate Reset – Day 1

Yesterday was the start of something new. Jay and I started a 21-day cleanse program called the Beachbody Ultimate Reset. It is supposed to reset your body to it’s factory settings. I’m hoping that it will help me to get my eating habits back on track after months of eating improperly.

I am also hoping that it will help me with my weight-loss plateau.  I lost all the weight I gained from having X, but my pre-pregnancy weight wasn’t exactly where I wanted to be in the first place. I have people tell me that I don’t need to lose any weight. And they are right. I don’t NEED to lose weight. I am 5 foot nothing and the scale said 122.5 yesterday morning. I am not overweight. I am on the upper side of the normal range, and ,being an anal-retentive pain in the ass, I would really prefer to be right smack in the middle of the normal range- maybe 110-115lbs. I know what I look like when I lose too much weight. I’ve been 101 pounds (thank you Mono) and I looked like an extra from The Walking Dead. I don’t want that. What I do want is to not be all self-conscious and to go ahead and wear compression shorts to my next OCR and show off the bad-ass Spartan Athena tattoo I got on my thigh.

So back to the Reset. I want to be as truthful and open about it as I can because I had a lot of difficulty finding non-biased blogs and reviews. Almost everyone who writes about it is also trying to sell it. Of course they are going to say it is the most wonderful thing in the world. I am not selling it.

The Reset is divided into 3 phases. Phase 1 is Reclaim. It will be a week of cutting out the crap food and most of the meat. There are 4 supplements that I am taking for the week. They are taken on an empty stomach 30 minutes before eating. They made me feel a bit weird. I kind of felt like I was about to get a headache all day. I’m told this is normal and that actual headaches and body aches will kick in for the rest of the week and that this is completely normal. These are the supplements. I don’t quite get the science of it (and science is my job), but if it works, it works:

  1. Mineralize – I am pretty sure it is nothing but pink Himalayan salt. I have to sprinkle a pinch in every 12-32oz of water that I drink. I should be drinking half my body weight (in ounces) of distilled water each day. I am not drinking 60oz of distilled water. I’m drinking regular, purified water with the Mineralize in it. To purchase and store enough water for me AND Jay for 3 weeks is a bit nuts. Oh and you can’t drink that water for 30 minutes before, during, or for 30 minutes after a meal.
  2. Optimize – 2 pills 3x a day. Allegedly these are packed with the enzymes that my body needs for proper immune responses.
  3. Oxygenize – drops that are supposed to contain stabilized oxygen to help eliminate wastes.
  4. Alkalinizethis crap is disgusting. Just getting that out first. This green powder is supposed to bring the pH of the body to a more alkaline state since most people’s bodies are more acidic than they should be. I dissolved it in a couple ounces of water yesterday and tried to chug it back as quickly as I could. It tastes like rotting grass and goose poop. I’ll be using a lot less water today in an effort to get it down as quickly as possible.

In addition to the supplements that the Reset kit comes with, it also comes with a meal plan and recipes. I shopped for everything I’d need for the week on Sunday. Fresh, healthy food is expensive. We spent about $200  between Adams Fairacre Farms and Nature’s Pantry just for the week. Slap that onto the $180 for each of our Ultimate Reset kits and this turns out to be a pricy venture. But I supposed it’s cheaper than heart bypass surgery later, right?

Jay and I prep our breakfast and lunch after X goes to sleep. The recipes are pretty easy. Yesterday’s menu looked like this:

Breakfast – scrambled eggs, toast, spinach. This was actually a lot more than I am used to eating so I felt very satiated.

Lunch – salad of mixed greens, red pepper, sunflower seeds, jicama, cucumber, etc and a garlic dressing. I wasn’t actually able to finish the whole thing. Salad is really filling..

…until an hour later when I was starving. I held out until my snack time. The snack is optional and should be used only when absolutely necessary.

Snack – an apple and a tablespoon of almond butter (the fancy, expensive, all-natural stuff)

Dinner – baked salmon, baby potatoes, asparagas. it was a pretty generous portion for me.

I was kind of hungry a little bit after dinner. I was really tempted to grab a couple of strawberries from the refrigerator, but held my ground against myself.

This morning I got to have a giant bowl of oatmeal and blueberries and was supposed to have a half cup of yogurt with maple syrup, but I couldn’t fit that all in me. I think this meal plan puts me at 1500 calories a day and I believe I’m used to more of a 1300 calorie diet. (With the exception of days that jalapeno poppers and pizza rolls count as dinner. Yes, I do that. And Yes, I will do it again once this cleanse is done. There’s no point in being healthy if I can’t enjoy my life!)

That’s all I’ve got for now. As accountability for myself, and so that people can see the actual effect of this cleanse on me, I’m including my weight and measurements. I forgot to take a ‘before’ picture. Maybe I’ll remember to do that tonight while Jay is making our Black Beans and Rice for dinner.

Measurments in Pounds 1/14/13
Weight 122.50
Measurments in Inches
Waist 30.00
Hips 37.00
Thigh 21.50
Bicep 11.00
Totals
Total Inches 99.50
BMI 23.89
Leave a Reply

