A Cupcake is Only 8 Points

3 Months have passed since the X man made his debut. I packed on 29lbs to create that 6lb 7oz poop machine, leaving me with about 20 extra pounds lingering around my gut and forcing me to jump up a couple of pant sizes. Not cool. Really  not cool. Especially since prior to having X, I had dropped to 120lbs and lost something like 5% body fat thanks to my lovely friends at Gold’s Gym in Newburgh. In Post-Baby Land there is no time to workout and definitely no money to pay for Gold’s.  Being a compulsive baker married to a fantastic cook doesn’t help the fatty situation either.

So, after being taunted by the commercials as I stuffed my face with fresh baked muffins, I joined Weight Watchers PointsPlus Online. (Chef Hubby joined with me so that I didn’t have to feel like a total whack-job sitting there with a calculator at dinnertime.) I was going to be a good girl. I was going to cut out the snacking and drink less wine and rum. I was going to start trying to bake healthier options. Then the very next day, less than 24 hours after signing up, my mom tells me I need to bake 7 dozen cupcakes for a Girl Scout event at the VFW.

I refuse to send food out that I haven’t tasted and approved of myself. And I taste all throughout the process. I taste the ingredients, the batter, the baked cupcake, the frosting, the frosting again after I add more something, the toppings, the chocolate chips…you get the idea.  So how was I going to stick to my diet and bake cupcakes? Answer: become an uber-geek and calculate the point values for my cupcakes. If I know how many points are in the cupcake I can scare myself into not taste-testing every chance I got.

Weight Watchers has this wonderful little calculator that lets you put in all of your ingredients and how many servings it makes, and it tells you how many points each serving has. So I created 2 brand new Girls Scout cookie inspired cupcake recipes and used the calculator to frighten myself into eating only about 2 points worth of cupcakey goodness as I made them. Then on the day of the event, I let myself eat 1 whole cupcake. Having the number attached to it made me think much more about popping that second cupcake- so I didn’t and managed to eat a cupcake and enjoy the VFW picnic without going over on my Points for the day! PLUS there were others there that were ALSO on Weight Watchers and they were able to enjoy a cupcake as well without feeling guilty!

Samoa (Caramel Delight) Cupcakes (Sorry for the crappy pic)

Thin Mint Cupcakes

So I am going to share my 8 Point Samoa Girl Scout Cookie Cupcake Recipe here, and when I can I will post point values for other recipes as well. And there will definitely be more cupcakes because those 7dozen I was supposed to make for the VFW for this past weekend? Yeah, that was actually supposed to be for Memorial Day this coming Monday, so I have to bake MORE. Me and my mom need better communication skills.

Samoa Cupcakes (32)

Vanilla Cupcakes
  • 1 Cup Unsalted Butter
  • 1 Cup Vanilla Cream Soda
  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 2 Cups Sugar
  • 1.5 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 0.5 Tsp Salt
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2/3 Cup Sour Cream

Preheat oven to 350F and line cupcake tins with 32 baking cups.

Melt butter in a medium saucepan. Add in the cream soda and bring to a boil for a few minutes. Allow to cool.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt.

In a larger bowl, whisk together the eggs and sour cream. Blend in butter/soda mixture. Slowly add in the flour mixture and fold until just combined.

Fill each baking cup with one ice cream scoop full of batter. Bake about 17 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool completely on a cooling rack. (I find this especially important with these cupcakes. They will stick to the cups and fall apart if not entirely cooled.)

Chocolate Frosting
  • 4oz Semisweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1oz Unsweetened Chocolate
  • 1/2 Cup Butter, room temperature
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 or 2 Tbsp Milk
  • 1.5 Cups Confectioner’s Sugar

Melt chocolates either in a double boiler or in the microwave. Allow to cool (but not harden.) Using an electric mixer blend in butter until smooth, then add in the vanilla and 1tbsp milk. Mix in confectioner’s sugar a little bit at a time until a good frosting consistency is achieved. If it becomes too stiff, add in the other tbsp of milk. If it is not stiff enough, add more confectioner’s sugar.

Caramel Sauce
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 1/3 Cup Water
  • 2/3 Cup Heavy Cream

Over medium low heat, dissolve sugar in water. Whisk occasionally to ensure all the sugar is completely dissolved. Continue to boil over medium high heat, without stirring, for approximately 10 minutes, or until the solution becomes a rich amber color. Watch this pot carefully because this will go from amber to burnt nastiness in no time flat. Remove from the heat and slowly add heavy cream while stirring constantly. Allow to cool to room temperature. (Unused caramel can be stored for up to a month in the refrigerator)

Assembly

Frost cupcakes with about 1 tbsp of the chocolate frosting (I used a small ice cream scoop to ensure even frosting distribution to all the cupcakes.) Place a caramel-filled Hershey’s Kiss in the center of each cupcake, pressing down to make the frosting squish to the sides. Cover the cupcake with toasted unsweetened coconut shreds (a couple of minutes being tossed around on a hot pan will toast the coconut nicely) and shake off excess. Drizzle the cupcakes with the caramel sauce (probably about a tsp per cupcake.)

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

