Lentil Cookies – Cookie Monster Approved

Anyone who knows me can tell you that I am a cookie fiend. If Cookie Monster wasn’t created over a decade before I was born I would totally sue the Jim Henson Company for copying my likeness.

Just one more hit… just to feel normal again

I mostly go for chocolate chips and any variation on that theme: added nuts, oatmeal, dried cherries, etc. I’ve been waiting for the perfect time to make some bacon chocolate chip cookies (like maybe the day that I decide to live on a recliner and wash myself with a rag on a stick because I will eat those cookies until I need a forklift to leave my house.)

While waiting to come to terms with the fact that I will one day be morbidly obese, the Spice Goddess came into my life. Bal Arneson is the Spice Goddess on the Cooking Channel. She showcases Indian food. I fell in love with Indian food while working just outside the Little India area in Manhattan. During one episode, Bal pulls out a cookie recipe. It has chocolate chips in it so I am very interested. It has pumpkin seeds and almond slivers, too. And oats. My first thought is “Cool. Protein and whole grains. These would be awesome to take as a snack while hiking and stuff.” Then she pulls out lentils. I like lentils but I wouldn’t think to put them in cookies. But they look so tasty on my TV screen. I decided to give this recipe a shot and oh my Ganesha were they good!! My father-in-law, who claimed to not like cookies and declined my offer to try them 3 times before eating one, ate about a dozen. And then asked me to pack up some for him to bring back home. The lentils add substance but no lentil-y flavor, but seem to help accentuate the nuttiness of the almonds and oats. Extra Bonus: I get to feel better about eating these fiber and protein packed cookies. Forget Clif and Luna bars. These were awesome.

This is Bal’s recipe. Italics and images are my modifications and notes.

Bal’s Lentil Cookies 

  • 1 cup mixed lentils
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup quick rolled oats
  • 1 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 cup pumpkin seeds or sunflower seeds- I found that the pumpkin seeds were too big and chewy
  • 1 cup chocolate chips or peanut butter chips- I wanted chocolate chips but forgot to buy more. I had pb chips in the pantry. They were a great pinch hitter.

Cook the lentils in boiling water for 35 minutes. Strain the lentils and crush with a fork.

Never though I'd start baking by cooking legumes.

Mashy mash

If you prefer cakier cookies, continue on immediately. If you prefer a crumblier cookie, let the mushed up lentils cool off considerably before adding any other ingredients.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Grease a cookie sheet or line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In a bowl, cream the crushed cooked lentils, butter, and brown sugar together and then add the egg and blend.

Add the flour, baking soda, and vanilla.

Stir in the oats, slivered almonds, pumpkin seeds, and chocolate chips and mix well.

Drop the cookies by the spoonful onto the prepared baking sheet and flatten.

Bake the cookies for 13 to 18 minutes and allow to cool on a baking rack.

Cookie Cookie Cookie starts with "C" nom nom nom nom

4 thoughts on “Lentil Cookies – Cookie Monster Approved

  1. Oh wow! Thank you for this. I must try it! As much as I love them, I never would have thought of the lentils either. I am the kind of girl that likes to sneak zucchini and carrots, etc into my muffins and cakes so I am definitely going to try this out.

  2. oh wow!!! What an amazing recipe!! As I am thinking of opening a Dhaal (lentils in Punjabi) restaurant, this would be an amazing idea and a great alternative to the usual cake desserts!! Thank you so much!!!

Leave a Reply

