An Oven’s Week in Hell – Day One

My poor oven. It will have been on almost non-stop from December 17 until Christmas Eve. Of course, the gas company is probably enjoying every 350 degree moment of it.

Day One:

It’s the Christmas season, which means I have a lot of baking to do. Bread, brownies, and cookies are all lined up in my mental queue. But first, I needed to make muffins. I may be the pregnant one, but my dear Chef Hubby is the one having the cravings. This week he was having a mega craving for some bacon cheddar muffins so I decided that while dough was rising for some bread I was making, I’d be a good little wife and make muffins for him.

I got the idea originally from a photo found in the Recipes to Share pool on Flickr  – thank you steamboatwillie33 !) The first time I made them was a month or so ago and it was disastrous. There was nothing wrong with the recipe, just with my wacky idea that I should try to make Bacon and Cheddar muffins healthier by using whole wheat flour. I don’t know what I was thinking. The consistency was so off that the baking cups became fused to the muffins.  I was going to throw them out but Chef Hubby started digging the middles out of the muffins and scarfing away. I think he ate half a dozen muffins in this fashion before I gave a few to the dogs and threw out the rest. I re-made them with normal all purpose flour, no baking cups, and a few alterations and they turned out DELICIOUS. Chef Hubby was in love and the dogs were sad because not a crumb fell to them.

So,

Twas the Friday before Christmas (Eve) and all through the house not a creature was stirring except me in the kitchen making:

Bacon Cheddar Muffins

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powderDSCN0604
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • ¼- ½ teaspoon cumin
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup butter melted and cooled
  • 1 egg
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3/4 lb super thick-cut, Applewood smoked bacon
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Pre-heat oven to 400F

Lay bacon out on a sheet pan and bake in the oven for about 22 minutes or until bacon is at your preferred crispiness level. The bacon may need to be flipped around or drained of bacon fat to cook evenly. I actually cooked the bacon in a disposable dollar store aluminum roasting pan this time because I HATE cleaning the greasy nastiness off the pan. Cool the bacon on some paper towels and dice or crumble it up.

While the bacon is cooking, saute the garlic and onions in a little bit of olive oil and season with pepper and cumin. Allow to cool.

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder and salt.

In another bowl, beat the egg and add in the milk and butter.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until just incorporated.

Fold in the onions/garlic, about 2/3 of the bacon and the cheese.

DSCN0606

I could have just ate this

Spray a muffin tin with non-stick baking spray and divide the batter between the cups. I used a large muffin tin, so I got 6 muffins. But you could definitely do 12-18 regular sized muffins. Sprinkle the tops with the remaining bacon and cheese.

DSCN0608

Enjoy for breakfast, elevensies, after-dinner snack...

Bake for 20-30 minutes depending on muffin size, oven weirdnesses, or star alignment on the date of your birth. I don’t think I’ve ever had 2 batches of the same recipe cook in the same amount of time. Ever. Transfer to rack and keep Chef Hubby and mutts away from kitchen until cool.

 

Stay tuned for Day 2 – Spiked Eggnog Brownie Bites!

Leave a Reply

