Tweedle Dee, Tweedle Dum, and Tweedle Duh

Since October is Adopt-a-Shelter Dog month, I figured this would be a good time to introduce my 3 doofy dogs- all of which were a rescue in some way or another. So here is my pack:

Odin, Brutus, and Nilla

Starting at the far left is ‘the Big Doof’ known as Odin – named for the Norse god. He is a black lab/boxer mix who came to us from the Beacon Animal Rescue Foundation. He was only 6 months old when we adopted him and was already 60 lbs of too long legs paired with too big paws. He is now 2 years old and his legs are still too long and his paws are still too big.  He is very much like a boxer in that he uses those big mitts like hands.  He likes to swat at toys (and at his little dachshund brother) and give hugs- not typical dog-hugs mind you, he actually wraps those gangly limbs around your waist and nuzzles his head into your chest.  He is most definitely his master’s dog, though. Odin cries when my hubby doesn’t come home on time or leaves the house.

The other black blob taking up space on my couch is Brutus the longhaired ‘tweenie’ dachshund. He was originally purchased by my sister-in-law as a gift for my brother-in-law.  Brutus and his canine roomie didn’t get along though, so he came to live with us rather than end up as another resident of NYC’s Animal Care and Control. Brutus is 18 months old and still has all that puppy energy. He routinely gets into fights with his pillow (and loses.) I am pretty sure he is a reincarnated Nazi, since he goose-steps around the house and got really quiet and hid under Odin when I was watching Inglourious Basterds.

And then there is her Royal Highness:

Objects in this picture may appear sweeter than they are

In her opinion, I was privileged enough to have her bestowed upon me by the Blooming Grove Humane Society. She is the alpha of the dogs and is just too high brow to play the silly chasing games that the other dogs play. She will adjust the throw pillows on the couch to properly cradle her frame. She dares not walk outside if the ground is wet. If Nilla could speak, she would probably use the royal ‘We’ in reference to herself. (I will not mention her age for she may banish me from her kingdom if I release such information) But for all her royal attitude she is still a beagle. If there is something stinky around, she will roll in it. If there is food to be had, she will scarf it. If there is something that may have been or might be food at some point, she will eat it.

This week, in honor of my shelter dogs, I baked homemade doggie treats and shared them with all the lucky dogs I know. I even bought bone-shaped cookie cutters just for the occasion. Here’s the recipe:

Peanut Butter Cookies for Dogs

3 cups Whole Wheat Flour

2 teaspoons Baking Soda

1/2 cup Rolled Oats

1 1/4 cup Peanut Butter (natural pb is better for pups because it has less fat and salt, but I used Jif)

1 1/2 cup Milk

1 tablespoon Molasses

Preheat oven to 350F

Mix flour, baking soda, and oats in one bowl and peanut butter, milk, and molasses in another.  Slowly add the flour mixture to the peanut butter mixture until well incorporated. The dough will be very thick and sticky.

Roll the dough out to about a 1/4 inch thick. To make it slightly less messy, I put the dough between 2 sheets of waxed paper too roll it out.) Cut out shapes with a cookie cutter. Bake treats on a parchment lined cookie sheet for 20 minutes.  Turn off the oven but leave the treats in there until the oven cools down.  This seems to make the treats crunchier.

I got 5 sandwich baggies full of dog cookies out of this recipe. I’d give a more accurate number, but I made 4 different sized cookies, so the numbers could vary a lot. I also would have gotten more cookies than that if my dogs didn’t con me out of some of the raw dough. (Look at those faces. Could you tell them ‘no’?)

My dogs loved these cookies. Odin kept coming in front of me and sitting, thinking he’d keep getting more. I took pictures of the begging mutts but my camera isn’t cooperating with me so I’ll post the shots as soon as I can.

The only thing that distracted the pack from my cookies was Chef Hubby coming home with 3 giant slabs of prime rib from the restaurant. Cookies are good but I guess they can’t compete with steak.

One thought on “Tweedle Dee, Tweedle Dum, and Tweedle Duh

Leave a Reply

