It's Peanut Butter Jelly Time!

I have been waiting to start writing this blog until I really had something worth writing about.  I have been experimenting in the kitchen routinely for a few months now.  I have been pregnant for 3 months, which comes along with plenty of little things to write about.  My 3 mutts have done a plethora of bizarre things that, had I been able to catch on camera, would have been blog-worthy.  But not until now did I have something I wanted to be my first blog ever.

I participated in a Cupcakes for a Cause bake sale to raise money for CancerCare for Kids.

http://www.cupcakesforacause.org/

My community lost a sister Girl Scout 5 years ago to cancer.  She was only 10.  I felt like I had to rock out some great cupcakes in her honor.

(I know, I know. I shouldn’t have started my blogging career on such a down-note.  But it’s a down-note that will hopefully lead to a lot more happy-notes for some kids and their families)

My young friend loved purple.  Everything was purple.  So I had to figure out how to do purple cupcakes without just adding food dye and calling it a day.  I also was thinking ‘This thing’s for kids- what do kids like?’ My answer to myself was Peanut Butter and Jelly!

I am a recipe scavenger so I scoured other people’s food blogs to find a yummy peanut butter cake recipe and a very jelly-y frosting recipe.

I Heart Cuppycakes won me over with her PB cupcakes (http://iheartcuppycakes.com/2008/01/24/peanut-butter-cupcakeschocolate-glaze/) and StefCakes (http://stefcakes.com/blog/?p=108) had the only jelly frosting recipe that I believed would yield the purple color that I so desperately wanted to incorporate.

The peanut butter cupcakes came out so peanut buttery and moist. They were so moist, in fact, that I didn’t have to peel off the wrappers.  They just fell right off.

almost ready!

The grape jam buttercream was an equally fabulous recipe. It yielded full-on jelly flavor. Like eating-right-out-of-the-jar jelly flavor.  AND it covered more than 3 dozen cupcakes (plus some to spare) with one batch.

Finished Cupcakes**

**Please note: my photography skills bite

The bake sale was a success and everyone I’ve spoken to thought these cupcakes came out awesome.  Hubby, mom, little sis and random guy at work told me they tasted just like a peanut butter and jelly sandwich! Mission Accomplished!

So wait a sec, that’s it? No drama? Every other thing I have done in the kitchen has ended with me scrapping an idea at midnight only to start something new. Or having a meringue decide to not set.  Or running out of cocoa powder in the middle of a batch of brownies. Or… you get the idea. But this kitchen adventure went swimmingly.  I didn’t have to tweak a recipe or start over or anything.

< I am lying a little bit: I did have to add a few drops of violet food dye gel to the frosting.  Apparently ‘grape’ isn’t purple enough for anal-retentive me.>

2 thoughts on “It's Peanut Butter Jelly Time!

Leave a Reply

