Home » Frosting » Friday FoodDay – Gruyere & Bacon

Friday FoodDay – Gruyere & Bacon

I’m a Pinterest junkie. What woman isn’t these days, though, right? I’ve pinned over a thousand random things and have even tested pins for two of the Pintester‘s Pintester Movements.

The weird thing is that I think my husband is becoming a Pintester by proxy. He doesn’t pin or even have a Pinterest account, but recently I have been forking over my pinned recipes for him to re-create for me.  So in the interest of public service, I will share how these pinned recipes go and any tweaks that Chef/hubby Jay makes so that you can make your pinned nommy noms even nommier.

The first installment of this shall be the test of Gruyere Bacon Mac and Cheese that was originally pinned from damndelicious.net.

From my Noms of the Not So Healthy Variety board.

Seriously, how on Earth was I supposed to say no to this? And given that X was going through an “I’m not going to eat anything” period, any food, no matter how unhealthy, was better than no food.

I’m not going to sit here and re-type the recipe for you, because you can just go to the link above to find it, but I will tell you the changes we made.

  • 8 ounces elbow macaroni Used a whole box of macaroni
  • 6 slices Jones Dairy Farm Sliced Bacon probaby used a whole package of bacon because I don’t remember having half a package left in the fridge, diced
  • 2 1/2 cups heavy cream because that was all  I had. Added in 2 cups or so of whole milk since I was doubling the recipe
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced not going to put a number on this. We used a LOT because that’s how my family rolls.
  • 1 tablespoon of those little tiny packages of chopped fresh thyme leaves sprigs so that we could take the thyme out after it flavored the milk. Can’t let green in X’s food.
  • 1 1/4 3? cups shredded gruyere cheese
  • 1/4 1/2 cup grated Parmesan Pecorino Romano because Parmesan tastes gross.

We did add in a tablespoon or so of flour after making the cheese sauce because it was just flat out refusing to thicken up. Probably because I used milk instead of all the heavy cream. My bad.

We also decided to bake it off in the oven to make it extra delicious. Jay poured it all into a casserole dish, sprinkled the top with breadcrumbs and a drizzle of olive oil, and put it in a 350°F oven until it was golden-brown and delicious (Time = 1 episode of Bubble Guppies or 20ish minutes)

Voila! Cheesy Bacony goodness!

Voila! Cheesy Bacony goodness!

It was soooo good! Gruyere and bacon were just meant to be together. I mean cheddar is great and all, but but I love all the cheeses and it’s just unfair to leave all the bacon and macaroni to the yellow stuff.

Dinner time!

As you can see, I even pulled out the good china for this dinner. Yep, Dixie’s best.

X ate his whole dinner plus a little more that night. Awesome. Even more awesome was having the leftovers for dinner the next night. While the microwave re-heating did cause the cheese to separate out a little bit, it was still really tasty. All those flavors just got amped up from sitting in the fridge. This will definitely be made again.

2 thoughts on “Friday FoodDay – Gruyere & Bacon

  1. Pingback: Friday FoodDay – Ready-to-go Recipes | Dirt & Frosting

Leave a Reply

